Assembly of Christian Educators Ministry


The Assembly of Christian Educators (ACE) is a body of dedicated, faithful, and committed Christians doing the will of God through educational ministry.  We endeavor to extend to all persons the mission of Jesus Christ through a holistic approach. We promote God's Word, the importance of Christian nurture and the doctrines of the African Methodist Episcopal Zion Church.  Therefore, it is our goal to develop (1) discipleship, (2) personal growth, and (3) spiritual growth through training, educational resource sharing, stewardship, witnessing, outreach, and fellowship.


The objectives of this organization shall be to enhance the implementation of the mandate of Jesus:  "Go ye therefore and teach all nations..."

a.  To provide a periodic forum for the presentation of ideas;

b.  To explore trends and share information with all Christian Educators in the African Methodist Episcopal Zion Church;

c.  To support and implement denominational programs and projects; and

d.  To satisfy requirements for denominational representation.


The membership of this organization shall include Christian Educators appointed by Bishops, Presiding Elders, and Pastors.  Membership eligibility of any Christian Educator shall be initiated upon the payment of dues in advance.  All appointed and elected Christian Educators upon the payment of dues shall have all the rights and privileges of the Assembly of Christian Educators.  The membership drive shall be conducted between October 1st and December 26th each year.  Membership should be paid before attending interim meetings.  Annual dues are $15.00 and payable to the Assembly of Christian Educators' Treasurer before each interim meeting.  All membership cards expire on December 26th,  Permanent membership dues are $300.00.  These dues may be paid on the installment plan.  Once paid, the member is obligated to pay an annual membership fee of $5.00 to the Region.  The fees collected from these contributions go into the college/continuing education scholarship fund.


  • The James W. Eichelberger Scholarship
  • The George Lincoln Blackwell Scholarship
  • The Denison D. Garrett Scholarship 

The Chairman of the Scholarship Committee is Mr. Eric A. Smith, Eastern Region Co-Vice President;  Scholarship submission requirements and other specifics will be established and disseminated by the Scholarship Committee.


  • Region I - Eastern
  • Region II - Southeastern
  • Region III - South Central
  • Region IV - Central
  • Region V - Midwestern
  • Region VI - Western
  • Region VII - Overseas (some of these are assigned to Regions I - VI)


The official dress for female Christian Educators in the African Methodist Episcopal Zion Church is a navy blue dress or a navy blue suit worn with a white blouse.  The men shall wear a navy blue suit with a white shirt and a red or navy tie.  The official dress will be worn at all official Christian Education functions as designated by the Episcopal, Conference, District and/or Local Directors.  Only the official baby blue and red stole is sanctioned by the Christian Education Department.  The stole may only be worn over the official dress.  The cost of each stole shall be $35.00, plus shipping and handling.  The stole is to be worn only after one has been properly installed on the Connectional, Episcopal, Annual Conference, or District level.  At the time of the stole ceremony, members are expected to be in full and complete official dress.


Red (blood of Jesus) and light blue (education)


We Are Christian Educators (tune – “We Are Climbing Jacob’s Ladder”) Lyrics - Dr. Mary Love


Mr. Eric Alfonzo Smith II


Rev. Tyesha N. Harden

First Vice President

Rev. Adriane Newton

Second Vice President

Mrs. Yvonne S. Smith

Stole Chairperson

Mr. Adrian D. Smith

Chief of Staff

Mrs. Doris M. Davison

Recording Secretary

Ms. Tonya Cornelius

Corresponding Secretary

Rev. Carla R. Perry-Johnson


Rev. Andra Watkins-Wright


Rev. A. Terry Young, III


Mr. Kyle P. Ledford Sr., CFSP

Strategic Planning Officer

Ms. Stacey M. Hayes

Regional Co-Vice President

Rev. Donna Stewart

Regional Co-Vice President

Rev. Angela W. Boyd

Regional Co-Vice President

Ms. Renate Lee

Regional Co-Vice President

Ms. Marycile Echols

Regional Co-Vice President

Ms. Shelia V. Spencer

Regional Co-Vice President

Bro. Rick Lee

Regional Co-Vice President

Rev. Austin J. Young

Regional Co-Vice President

Sis. Leshia Sams

Regional Co-Vice President

Rev. Gwendolyn Peters

Regional Co-Vice President

Mr. Charles Montgomery

Regional Co-Vice President

Ms. Patricia Schmidt Hunter

Regional Co-Vice President